From No Texting while driving to No checking emails – Now, don’t hold your mobile phone while driving. According to The National Safety Council, mobile phones are involved in 1.6 million auto accidents each year. Also, in 2015; 391,000 people were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving a distracted driver. With 1 out of every 4 car accidents in the United States being related to phones, this new law is a huge step for the safety of Rhode Island drivers.
As of June 1st, the “hands-free” law is in effect which prohibit drivers from using hand-held devices. Police can start pulling over and issuing $100 tickets to drivers they see talking on a hand-held phone. First offense can be waived if the violator can show proof of having acquired hands-free equipment to Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal.
In 2009, Rhode Island passed a law with No Texting and Driving. In the Rhode Island state law, states “No person shall use a wireless handset or personal wireless communication device to compose, read, or send text messages while driving a motor vehicle on any public street or public highway within the state of Rhode Island.” (Section 31-22-30). The result of breaking the No texting and driving law includes a fine of $100, a license suspension for up to 30 days, or both. The more a person is caught texting and driving; the more the consequences amount rises.
We know that everyday people from Rhode Island and Massachusetts face the danger of distracted driving everyday. If you or someone you know have been injured or been in a serious car accident due to distracted driving, you may call us at (401) 751-6655 or fill out the form online for a free consultation today!